Hit and Run Ticket

Hit and Run Ticket
Imagine you’re driving along the road, when another car suddenly bumps into you. You’re in a rush, and don’t really feel like stopping, so you keep going. You don’t think the accident caused any real damage to your vehicle, and since the accident wasn’t your fault, it doesn’t matter, right? Wrong. Regardless of whether the accident was your fault, you are legally required to stop anytime you are involved in an accident, and failure to do so can lead to a hit and run ticket.

From a legal perspective, you can be charged with hit and run if you are involved in a collision, and do not stop to exchange identification with the other vehicle’s owner. Once you stop, you are also responsible for helping any injured drivers, requesting any necessary medical care, and reporting the accident to the police.

If your accident involved a stationary object, such as a parked car, you must let the owner know about the accident. This can be done by leaving a note with your contact information, or by using the vehicle’s license plate number to identify the owner. If you do not attempt to notify the owner of the accident, you can be charged with hit and run.

Depending on the circumstances of your accident, a hit and run charge can be classified as either a misdemeanor or felony offense. Misdemeanor hit and runs are usually issued in cases that involve only minor property damage, and cause no injury to the drivers. Felony hit and run tickets, on the other hand, are reserved for accidents that cause serious injury or death.

Although the penalties for a misdemeanor hit and run are not as severe as they are for a felony violation, they are still quite serious. At the very least, you can expect to be fined $1,000 or more. You may also have to spend time in jail (usually no more than six months), pay restitution to the victim, and lose your driving privileges for a year or longer. The fines for a felony conviction can be as much as $10,000, and you may be imprisoned for several years. Your driver’s license will also be suspended and, in some cases, your vehicle may be impounded.

As you can see, the penalties for a hit and run ticket are quite severe. Fortunately, there are many defense strategies that can be used to challenge the citation, and an experienced attorney can help determine the best option for your case. If you are facing hit and run charges, obtaining legal representation in can help ensure you have the best defense possible. Don’t let one mistake jeopardize your future. Discuss your hit and run case with an attorney in your area today.

States and Cities:
AK Alaska, Anchorage LA Louisiana, New Orleans OH Ohio, Cincinnati
AL Alabama, Montgomery MA Massachusetts, Boston OK Oklahoma, Tulsa
AR Arkansas, Little Rock MD Maryland, Baltimore OR Oregon, Portland
AZ Arizona, Phoenix ME Maine, Portland PA Pennsylvania, Philadelphia
CA California, Los Angeles MI Michigan, Detroit RI Rhode Island, Providence
CO Colorado, Denver MN Minnesota, Duluth SC South Carolina, Charleston
CT Connecticut, Hartford MO Missouri, Branson SD South Dakota, Sioux Falls
DE Delaware, Wilmington MS Mississippi, Jackson TN Tennessee, Nashville
FL Florida, Orlando MT Montana, Bozeman TX Texas, Houston
GA Georgia, Atlanta NC North Carolina, Charoltte UT Utah, Salt Lake City
HI Hawaii, Honolulu ND North Dakota, Fargo VT Vermont, Burlington
IA Iowa, Des Moines NE Nebraska, Omaha VA Virginia, Richmond
ID Idaho, Boise NH New Hampshire, Portsmouth WA Washington, Seattle
IL Illinois, Chicago NJ New Jersey, Newark WI Wisconsin, Milwaukee
IN Indiana, Indianapolis NM New Mexico, Albuquerque WV West Virginia, Charleston
KS Kansas, Kansas City NV Nevada, Las Vegas WY Wyoming, Cheyenne
KY Kentucky, Lexington NY New York, New York DC Washington DC